Greece in 2040: Climate Change and olive growing

0

On 19th July, the free online seminar ‘Climate Change and Olive Production’ took place under the auspices of the ‘GREECE 2021’ Committee co-organised with the Scientific Society of Olive Encyclopaedists – Non Profit-Civil Society ‘4Ε’, and was very informative and productive.

The 11 guest scientific speakers, under the coordination of Aikaterini Polymerou-Kamilaki, talked in everyday terms about the great contribution made by olive cultivation, especially traditional sustainable methods, to environmental protection. They also described the effects of extreme weather phenomena on the quantity and quality of olive products, and consequently on the income generated for producers and the national economy.

They stressed that climate change is a complex phenomenon which can only be faced by an interdisciplinary approach and the combined efforts of everyone involved in the value chain of olive production and in decision-making processes.

The online event concluded with questions and discussion from the audience.

The guest speakers were the following:

  1. Yianna Kitsara (External Collaborator of the National Observatory of Athens; gkitsara@noa.gr) in cooperation with Anna Karali (Environmental Physicist, External Collaborator of the National Observatory of Athens, akarali@noa.gr) and Christos Yiannakopoulos (Director of Research at the National Observatory of Athens and member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, IPCC; cgiannak@noa.gr). Speech title: Impacts of climate change on the agricultural sector.
  2. Christos Xiloyannis (Professor at the University of Basilicata, Italy, E-mail: xiloyannis@libero.it). Speech title: The olive: Example of a tree contributing to opposing the negative effects of climate change.
  3. George Koubouris (Researcher, Head – Olive Cultivation Laboratory, Institute of Olive Tree, Subtropical Crops & Viticulture Hellenic Agricultural Organization ELGO DIMITRA; koubouris@elgo.iosv.gr). Speech title: Adaptation to climate change by appropriate selection of olive cultivars.

4 Emmanouil Kabourakis (Olive and Agroecological Production Systems Laboratory (EOPS). Department of Agriculture School, Agricultural Sciences. Hellenic Mediterranean; ekabourakis@hmu.gr). Speech title: Olive groves, greenhouse gas emissions, extreme weather and climate change. The past and the unknown future.

5 Dionisios Perdikis (Associate Professor, Laboratory of Entomology, Agricultural University of Athens; dperdikis@aua.gr). Speech title: The impact of climate change on the biology and control of olive pests.

6 Aliki Tzima (Assistant Professor, Agricultural University of Athens; aliki@aua.gr) and Epaminondas Paplomatas Professor, Director of Laboratory of Phytopathology, Agricultural University of Athens; epaplom@aua.gr). Speech title: Epidemiological impacts and strategies for olive disease control in a changing climate.

7 Stavros Vemmos (Emeritus Professor, Agricultural University of Athens, President of 4E; svemmos@aua.gr). Speech title: The importance of the olive tree for Greece Possible impacts of climate change on olive tree cultivation.

8 Ioannis Tsirogiannis (Agriculturalist-Agricultural Engineer, Associate Professor, University of Ioannina; itsirog@uoi.gr/agroworks@yahoo.gr). Speech title: Effective irrigation management in olive cultivation – modern techniques and trends.

9 Vasilios Zampounis (Agricultural economist. Axion Publications; zampounis@olivenews.gr). Speech title: Economic impacts of climate change on olive cultivation.

10 Prodromos Zanis (Professor, Department of Meteorology and Climatology
School of Geology, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki; zanis@geo.auth.gr). Speech title: Climate change in Greece, impacts and adaptation in olive cultivation.

11 Dimitrios Voloudakis (Research Fellow, Center of Meteorology and Climatology of the Academy of Athens). Speech title: Olive cultivation and climate change – the food sector.